Discussion in 'CKC Trading Cards and Combat Deck discussion!' started by Lenbo, Jul 25, 2013.
What is "Battle Insight"? I missed it somewhere. One of the scar cards said "+1 to Battle Insight"
Good catch! I must have deleted this at some point...
BATTLE INSIGHT: X (where X is some number) is a shorthand way of writing the following: “At the start of combat, draw X cards from your combat deck, then discard all but one of those cards.”
Multiple BATTLE INSIGHT: X abilities add together their “X” values.
I've added this to the glossary.
I have only come across one item that affects battle insight so far. Are there more? Also, I am on my phone now so I can't check but if I recall correctly wouldn't drawing and then immediately discarding cards potentially be a disadvantage since (I think) you lose the ability to attack after you run out of cards in a combat and can only reshuffle the combat deck once you start a new combat?
Although come to think of it this would not be an issue most of the time.
BATTLE INSIGHT essentially lets you draw one additional card - which is always an advantage. If you have battle insight 3, you draw 3 cards, then discard 2 of those three cards: leaving you with 1 additional card.
There are several characters who have an innate BATTLE INSIGHT score, there is a scar, and I believe there is an enemy who uses it as well.
I found a Kaiju that has plus 3 Battle Insight. Very cool!
Also, quick question: How many Team Cards are there currently, and what are they? Is it possible to get the Starter Deck Team Cards in Booster Packs or will I need to buy more starter decks to get them all? I'm a collector, you see, and I just spent the last two hours building Kaiju Teams and memorizing battle cards because I couldn't sleep, and now I feel like I won't get a good night's sleep again until I have all the Team Cards...
I still need to post all the SPN4 & 5 cards onto the gallery! Keep reminding me!
Kaiju appear in only ONE spn release - but other types of cards rotate in and out.
Team Cards in fixed decks are (as of now) only available in those fixed decks. (So the 4 kaijujin-themed teams)
In your opinion, is it cool to use SPN1-3 monsters' powers when they still make sense? Obviously there are a lot of powers from SPN1-3 that don't work anymore, but for those that do, is it OK to use them?
Absolutely! There are only about 5% of the cards SPN1-3 that DON'T work fine under the current rules. And I've found a reasonable solution to correct those as well... one day when I find a few free hours...
Keeping all the cards playable was a primary goal of mine. But even though 95% of them still work... it's probably more true that only 85% of them still work well enough to be balanced properly. But that's all going to be fixed eventually.
Many of the cards I noticed said things like "MOVE+3", "RANGE + 1", and powers that refer to a combat system where you could once apparently attack with multiple cards at once, which seemed to be holdovers. I also noticed AIRBORNE a few times which I didn't recall the rules for but perhaps it's in a future edition or I missed something.
By the way, I decided to put up a video earlier today in this subforum about the game and am working on a second one! I aim to make many more!
And to end with a question, like I'm supposed to:
When will you be asking for Art Submissions for new Battle/Planning cards for SPN6?
Lots of keywords like COMBO, DODGE, and so forth still exist - they are on the combat cards. But yes, RANGE is still undefined.
Is it possible to make a checklist available of all combat/planning cards from SPN3-5? The Wiki is not updated for SPN3 or SPN5 yet, so I'm not 100% sure what I have and what I don't have.
My power went out in a pretty bad storm, so I whipped out CD V2. Does the movement during attack/counter attack resolve before or after damage? Can defenders move away from a combo during a counter?
Charge has "Move 3", can I use this while adjacent, move 3 after the damage resolves, in order to use Finishing Beam from a safe range?
Movement happens before damage. So Charge allows you to use Finishing Beam from a safe damage, but you WON'T get the charge damage if you move away.
Separate names with a comma.