User Tools

Site Tools


trading_cards:card_game_rules_in_depth

(If you haven't already, you should start by reading the Basic Card Game Rules)

Playing Planning Cards

There are five types of Planning Cards: Locations, Opponents, Allies, Scars, and Events.

  • Event cards are played during the planning phase, unless they specify otherwise. They go into the discard pile as soon as their effects resolve.
  • Scar cards are played at the end of a combat. You play them onto a kaiju who just fought and survived that combat without being knocked out. After combat each player may play scars on their own kaiju, then each player may play scars on enemy kaiju. Kaiju may have only one scar card attached to them at a time.
  • Ally cards become members of your team. Ally cards have a requirement on them which at least one member of your team must meet before it can be played. Allies are not (usually) kaiju, and so they do not heal and can NOT refuse challenges. They may be selected as your team's active character, and if active they may take an action just like a kaiju.
  • Location and Opponent cards are used to build the city you fight in. See the next section for more details.

Building the City & MOVE

Battles take place in a growing & changing cityscape - composed of whatever bits and pieces players have put into their combat decks. Mostly a city is made up of locations (like buildings) and opponents (like military vehicles).

The first city card played goes into the center of the play area. All subsequent city cards are played in a row, so that kaiju are “furthest” from the card played most recently. In order to move through the city, kaiju must play combat cards with Move values.

All active characters are adjacent to the current city card. During any battle, after resolving a round's damage, kaiju may use the Move value on their combat card to move through the city. For each point of movement:

  • MOVE: Place the adjacent city card at the end of the city, and shift all other city cards forward one place. (If you move enough, you will come right back where you started!)

Movement is always optional, not mandatory. You may use some of your movement, or all, or none.

City cards often have ongoing effects - Tanks try to damage kaiju, Office Complexes make the whole city tougher, Nuclear Power Plants generate energy, and so forth.

Rampage

When an active character decides to Rampage, they are engaging the entire city in combat. The rampaging character fights the adjacent city card just as if it were a kaiju, and one opponent uses their combat hand & energy tokens to play on behalf of the city. (If nobody wants to play on behalf of the city, then the rampaging characters simply plays as many sword cards as they like, with no resistance to slow them down.)

This plays out just like a regular combat, with 3 important distinctions:

  • When a city card is KO'd, the rampaging character has the option to immediately draw 2 combat cards and continue combat with the next city card. (This does not count as a MOVE.)
  • When a rampaging character MOVES, they shift their combat focus to the newly adjacent city card, but do not draw any additional combat cards.
  • In both of the above two cases:
    • the player acting as the city has the option to keep their combat hand, or discard it and draw a fresh hand of 5.
    • The rampaging character becomes The Sword again.
    • The entire rampage is a single combat - so Ferocity, Agility & Power are NOT refreshed.
    • Although it is the same combat, we are once again in Round 1, so first-round restrictions are in effect.

Collateral Damage

Certain attacks deal damage over a wide area - indicated by the RANGE value on the card. When The Sword plays a card with a RANGE value, they may deal 1 point of direct damage to a city card. Range:1 allows them to deal damage to the adjacent city card only. Range:2 allows them to deal damage to the adjacent card OR the card beyond it, and so on.

If collateral damage KOs a card, it is placed into your GLORY pile as normal.

A rampaging character may NOT deal collateral damage!

When a player is playing combat cards on behalf of a city card, those cards may NOT deal collateral damage.

Team Fights

In some situations, you might have a Team Fight - where multiple characters enter on one or both sides of the combat. These play out just like normal fights, with just a few differences:

  • If the effect that started the team-fight indicated that you should draw cards, do so immediately. If unspecified, draw 1 card for each additional character you added to the Team Fight.
  • When you are The Sword, any or all of your characters may play cards. Declare targets as you play each card.
  • As The Shield, you may play cards ONLY for the character(s) targeted by cards by The Sword. Select cards after attack cards have been played (face-down), along with an indication of which single card they are responding to.
  • As The Shield, you may NOT play CounterAttack cards with a character who is not targeted by The Sword!
  • Shield cards apply their toughness ONLY to the single card they are responding to. Yes, getting attacked by multiple characters simultaneously hurts.
  • If you have multiple characters, and play cards for some but not for others, you are not PASSING your turn. Only if you choose to play no combat cards at all is it considered a PASS, for purposes of ending the combat.

Winning the Game

Cards in the city can also be attacked and damaged for GLORY. The glory earned from defeating a location or opponent is the black number in a yellow box in the top-right corner of the card.

Kaiju cards do not have a GLORY number - they are always worth 5 GLORY (unless otherwise specified by rules text.)

Many event cards are worth GLORY - the rules on the card specify their value.

If you are asked to put random planning cards into your GLORY pile, put them face-down to prevent confusion. face-down cards are always worth 1 GLORY.

If you are told to “gain” GLORY with no specific card to represent it, use tokens.

When any player has 20 or more GLORY, the game ends immediately and that player wins. If multiple players reach 20+ GLORY at the same moment, the highest total wins. If there is a tie - the player with the most glory worth of characters still conscious wins. If that number is the same - the game is a tie!

If at any time only one player has characters left on their team, that player immediately wins the game, regardless of how much GLORY everyone has.

trading_cards/card_game_rules_in_depth.txt · Last modified: 2017/05/09 10:49 by simon_strange